Praying for salvation

Cross at sunset

Why should you pray for someone else’s salvation?

Because we are to fulfill the great commission:

Mat 28:18 KJV – And Jesus came and spake unto them, saying, All power is given unto me in heaven and in earth.
Mat 28:19 KJV – Go ye therefore, and teach all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the Holy Ghost:
Mat 28:20 KJV – Teaching them to observe all things whatsoever I have commanded you: and, lo, I am with you alway, [even] unto the end of the world. Amen.

Because of obedience – we are instructed to pray for other people with sin:

1Jo 5:14 NLT – And we are confident that he hears us whenever we ask for anything that pleases him.
1Jo 5:15 NLT – And since we know he hears us when we make our requests, we also know that he will give us what we ask for.
1Jo 5:16 NLT – If you see a Christian brother or sister sinning in a way that does not lead to death, you should pray, and God will give that person life. But there is a sin that leads to death, and I am not saying you should pray for those who commit it.

The sin that leads to death I believe is the cursing of the holy spirit:

Mat 12:32 NLT – Anyone who speaks against the Son of Man can be forgiven, but anyone who speaks against the Holy Spirit will never be forgiven, either in this world or in the world to come.

Because God desires all to be saved, therefore we should ask God to bring this to pass in our sphere of influence:

Eze 18:23 NKJV – “Do I have any pleasure at all that the wicked should die?” says the Lord GOD, “[and] not that he should turn from his ways and live?
Eze 18:32 NKJV – “For I have no pleasure in the death of one who dies,” says the Lord GOD. “Therefore turn and live!”

Luk 9:55 NKJV – But He turned and rebuked them, and said, “You do not know what manner of spirit you are of.
Luk 9:56 NKJV – “For the Son of Man did not come to destroy men’s lives but to save [them].” And they went to another village.

2Pe 3:9 NKJV – The Lord is not slack concerning [His] promise, as some count slackness, but is longsuffering toward us, not willing that any should perish but that all should come to repentance.

1Ti 1:15 NKJV – This [is] a faithful saying and worthy of all acceptance, that Christ Jesus came into the world to save sinners, of whom I am chief.

1Ti 2:3 NLT – This is good and pleases God our Savior,
1Ti 2:4 NLT – who wants everyone to be saved and to understand the truth.

Because Jesus Intercedes for us – and we are to be like Him, therefore we should intercede for others.

Rom 8:34 NKJV – Who [is] he who condemns? [It is] Christ who died, and furthermore is also risen, who is even at the right hand of God, who also makes intercession for us.

Luk 22:31 NLT – “Simon, Simon, Satan has asked to sift each of you like wheat.
Luk 22:32 NLT – But I have pleaded in prayer for you, Simon, that your faith should not fail. So when you have repented and turned to me again, strengthen your brothers.”

Because there is a blessing involved with turning a sinner to repentance:

Jam 5:19 NLT – My dear brothers and sisters, if someone among you wanders away from the truth and is brought back,
Jam 5:20 NLT – you can be sure that whoever brings the sinner back will save that person from death and bring about the forgiveness of many sins.

How should you pray for someone’s salvation?

Ask angels to minister to that person:

Hbr 1:14 NLT – Therefore, angels are only servants–spirits sent to care for people who will inherit salvation.

Find common ground with that person:

1Cr 9:22 NLT – When I am with those who are weak, I share their weakness, for I want to bring the weak to Christ. Yes, I try to find common ground with everyone, doing everything I can to save some.

Be an example, and teach the truth:

1Ti 4:16 NLT – Keep a close watch on how you live and on your teaching. Stay true to what is right for the sake of your own salvation and the salvation of those who hear you.

Love the lost person deeply, as it will help to cover a multitude of sins:

1Pe 4:8 NLT – Most important of all, continue to show deep love for each other, for love covers a multitude of sins.

Hate their sin, and use whatever influence you have to convict him of his sinfullness (in love and mercy):

Jud 1:22 NLT – And you must show mercy to those whose faith is wavering.
Jud 1:23 NLT – Rescue others by snatching them from the flames of judgment. Show mercy to still others, but do so with great caution, hating the sins that contaminate their lives.

Continually pray for that person, asking for God’s help, and give thanks for them:

1Ti 2:1 NLT – I urge you, first of all, to pray for all people. Ask God to help them; intercede on their behalf, and give thanks for them.

Like Moses, we can intercede for someone else and CHANGE God’s mind, by reminding Him of His character and promises:

Exd 32:10 NLT – Now leave me alone so my fierce anger can blaze against them, and I will destroy them. Then I will make you, Moses, into a great nation.”
Exd 32:11 NLT – But Moses tried to pacify the LORD his God. “O LORD!” he said. “Why are you so angry with your own people whom you brought from the land of Egypt with such great power and such a strong hand?
Exd 32:12 NLT – Why let the Egyptians say, ‘Their God rescued them with the evil intention of slaughtering them in the mountains and wiping them from the face of the earth’? Turn away from your fierce anger. Change your mind about this terrible disaster you have threatened against your people!
Exd 32:13 NLT – Remember your servants Abraham, Isaac, and Jacob. You bound yourself with an oath to them, saying, ‘I will make your descendants as numerous as the stars of heaven. And I will give them all of this land that I have promised to your descendants, and they will possess it forever.'”
Exd 32:14 NLT – So the LORD changed his mind about the terrible disaster he had threatened to bring on his people.

Like Moses, we should trust in God’s character and our own worth and salvation so much, that we will be able to fully intercede for a person and face His anger and wrath:

Deu 9:18 NLT – “Then, as before, I threw myself down before the LORD for forty days and nights. I ate no bread and drank no water because of the great sin you had committed by doing what the LORD hated, provoking him to anger.
Deu 9:19 NLT – I feared that the furious anger of the LORD, which turned him against you, would drive him to destroy you. But again he listened to me.
Deu 9:20 NLT – The LORD was so angry with Aaron that he wanted to destroy him, too. But I prayed for Aaron, and the LORD spared him.

God is looking for people that have the true compassion and love to “stand in the gap” for someone else. Failing to do so, will condemn them to destruction:

Eze 22:30 NLT – “I looked for someone who might rebuild the wall of righteousness that guards the land. I searched for someone to stand in the gap in the wall so I wouldn’t have to destroy the land, but I found no one.
Eze 22:31 NLT – So now I will pour out my fury on them, consuming them with the fire of my anger. I will heap on their heads the full penalty for all their sins. I, the Sovereign LORD, have spoken!”

The express purpose of the Holy Spirit is to convict THE WORLD of it’s sin and to convince them of God’s righteousness and judgment, so pray that the HS will do this for him:

Jhn 16:8 NLT – And when he comes, he will convict the world of its sin, and of God’s righteousness, and of the coming judgment.
Jhn 16:9 NLT – The world’s sin is that it refuses to believe in me.

Jesus has the power to grant life to whom He want, so earnestly pray and petition Him for this:

Jhn 5:21 NLT – For just as the Father gives life to those he raises from the dead, so the Son gives life to anyone he wants.
Jhn 6:44 NLT – For no one can come to me unless the Father who sent me draws them to me, and at the last day I will raise them up.

We use God’s weapons to convince people:

2Cr 10:3 NLT – We are human, but we don’t wage war as humans do.
2Cr 10:4 NLT – We use God’s mighty weapons, not worldly weapons, to knock down the strongholds of human reasoning and to destroy false arguments.
2Cr 10:5 NLT – We destroy every proud obstacle that keeps people from knowing God. We capture their rebellious thoughts and teach them to obey Christ.

Note we are not removing a person’s free choice by doing this. We are asking God to reveal the Gospel to this person in a truthful way, so that he can understand it and make an informed decision. Often previous biases or satanic influence or incorrect facts or insufficient facts could obscure the gospel message from being understood correctly and fully and it is this that we are asking God to address. We need to remember Satan will do his utmost to keep a non-believer captive and it is these walls we are breaking down on the other’s behalf.

Should a person have a full and proper understanding of he gospel, and he still refuses to believe, then I do not think it is biblical for you to pray to God to forcibly change his mind. You should continue praying that the right set of circumstances should be created for that person to accept Christ. However, asking God to force Himself on a person that wants nothing to do with Him, and for that person to become a robot with no free choice will require God to break His character, and I do not think this will be granted. For love to be love, that person needs to choose God of His own accord. Otherwise God would not be able to keep him accountable on the day of judgment.

But there is always hope that a person will change his mind in the future – so keep on praying!

Luk 11:9 NLT – “And so I tell you, keep on asking, and you will receive what you ask for. Keep on seeking, and you will find. Keep on knocking, and the door will be opened to you.

Realize and believe in the power of prayer in Jesus name:

Mat 21:22 NLT – You can pray for anything, and if you have faith, you will receive it.”
Mar 11:24 NLT – I tell you, you can pray for anything, and if you believe that you’ve received it, it will be yours.
Jhn 14:13 NLT – You can ask for anything in my name, and I will do it, so that the Son can bring glory to the Father.
Jhn 15:7 NLT – But if you remain in me and my words remain in you, you may ask for anything you want, and it will be granted!
Jhn 15:16 NLT – You didn’t choose me. I chose you. I appointed you to go and produce lasting fruit, so that the Father will give you whatever you ask for, using my name.
Jhn 16:23 NLT – At that time you won’t need to ask me for anything. I tell you the truth, you will ask the Father directly, and he will grant your request because you use my name.
Jhn 16:24 NLT – You haven’t done this before. Ask, using my name, and you will receive, and you will have abundant joy.

Posted on 2013/08/24, in Insights / Messages, Salvation, Theology, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

